Skip Navigation

Municipal Heritage Committee


Until further notice Committees of Council meetings will be conducted by way of electronic participation only.

Public presentations to Committees have been reinstated via electronic participation until further notice. 

Municipal Heritage Committee (MHC)

The Municipal Heritage Committee is an advisory body to City Council which advises on matters under the Ontario Heritage Act. All meetings of the Committee are open to the public and noted on the Meetings, Agendas & Minutes page. 

The City of North Bay's Municipal Heritage Committee (MHC) is comprised of a minimum of five members. By-Law No 38-96 established the MHC and identified that composition must include representation from one member of each of the following organizations:

  • North Bay City Council
  • North Bay Society of Architects
  • North Bay Museum (Discovery North Bay)

Current membership for the 2018-2022 Term is as follows:

  • Peter Handley, Chair
  • Andrew Bruce-Payne, Representative from the North Bay Society of Architects
  • Naomi Rupke, Representative from the North Bay Museum
  • Jeff Serran, Community Representative
  • Ed Valenti, Community Representative
  • George Maroosis, Community Representative
  • Margaret Surtees, Community Representative
  • Caroline Loiselle, Ex-Officio
  • Scott Robertson, City Councillor

If a member of the public wishes to speak at a meeting, they are asked to communicate with the contact noted on this page to be added to an Agenda.

View the MAAC's Terms of Reference: By-Law No. 1996-38